- All pre-licensing education must be in classroom instruction from an ADRE approved Arizona real estate school. Online prelicense education is not approved in Arizona. The school will provide you with a copy of the Candidate Handbook, or access it online at www.azre.gov
. The Candidate Handbook explains in detail what is required when taking the Arizona examination and applying for a license with the Arizona Department of Real Estate.
- After completion of the prelicensing course and passing the school’s final examination the school will issue a Prelicensure Education Certificate as verification the prelicensure education requirement has been met. Upon receiving the Prelicensure Education Certificate, and for the Broker examination when the Broker Candidate Experience Verification Form (LI226) is completed, contact the testing administrator, Pearson VUE at 8884055776, or www.pearsonvue.com
to register and schedule to take the Arizonaexamination. The Arizona examination has two parts, the National and the Arizonaspecific. Examinations are given in Flagstaff, Phoenix, Tucson and Yuma by appointment only.
An original PreLicensure Education Certificate must be presented to the examination site. Two forms of current personal signature identification, one government issued with a photo are required for presentation. All original documents must be presented at the examination site to allow for participation in the examination. An incomplete package of documents may require the approval process to begin anew.
The fee to take or retake a single part of the License Examination is the same as the fee to take the entire examination. Access the most current License Fee Schedule at www.azre.gov
Qualifications - Arizona Real Estate Salesperson License Requirements
• Age Be at least 18 years of age when applying for a license
• Education – Arizona is a nonreciprocal state. Complete 90 hours of “in classroom” Real Estate Salesperson prelicensing education at an approved Arizona real estate school and pass the examination at an ADRE approved real estate school, college or university. Online education is not approved for prelicensing education.
• Fingerprint Clearance Card Fingerprint Clearance Card is issued by Arizona Department of Public Safety. The application packet of information may be obtained from DPS or the real estate schools. The process for obtaining the Fingerprint Clearance Card may take as long as eight – ten weeks.
• Disciplinary Actions Disclosure Form (LI214/ 244) Information and documentation relating to the applicant’s background must be provided upon application for licensure. Date of birth and Social Security Number are required. Criminal convictions and background disclosure on the Disciplinary Actions Disclosure Form (LI214/
244), found at www.azre.gov
or in the Candidate Handbook, must be completed by all applicants, and depending on disclosures made, additional documents and information may be required. The Department CANNOT issue a license to a person convicted of a felony who is incarcerated, paroled or under community supervision or on probation. The Department may not issue a license to a person who has been convicted of a felony, or convicted of a
misdemeanor offense, such as (but not limited to) theft, forgery, extortion, conspiracy to defraud, violence against another person, or crimes of moral turpitude. A Fingerprint Clearance Card issued by DPS is required by all applicants at time of application.
• Disclosure Document Checklist (LI400) When applying for an original license and disclosing a criminal conviction, adverse civil judgment, or denial of or discipline against a professional or occupational license on the Disclosure Document Checklist Form (LI400), additional documents and information identified on must be provided. Forms are available on the ADRE website www.azre.gov
, under Forms Library and included in the Candidate Handbook.
• Contract Writing Class – Prior to License Application attendance at a 6 hour Contract Writing Class, (including certificate) is required.
• Fees – Fees are listed on the License Fee Schedule at www.azre.gov. The Department accepts Visa, MasterCard, and American Express, Discover cards, checks or exact cash.
Schedule Exam Date
– Contact Pearson VUE at www.pearsonvue.com
to schedule the state and national examinations. Be prepared to provide to the exam administrator two forms of current signature identification, including one government issued I.D. with photo and the Salesperson Education Certificate for the 90 hours of schooling. The examination fee is listed on the License Fee Schedule at www.azre.gov, clicking on the Fee Schedule link on the left navigation menu. Fees are subject to change without notice.
License Application – Salesperson Documents
• Original Salesperson Application & Fee
• Original Arizona Exam Score Report(s)
• PreLicensure Education Certificate the yellow form certifying that the pre licensure requirements have been met
• Proof of Legal Presence
• Disciplinary Actions Disclosure Form (LI214/244)
• DPS issued AZ Fingerprint Clearance Card
• Contract Writing Course Certificate
• Disclosure Document Checklist Form (LI400)*if applicable
• Hire on with a Broker at time of application as a Salesperson & Fee (complete Salesperson/Associate Broker Change Form LI202), or hire on after licensing online for a reduced fee. The Designated Broker must access the ADRE online system to approve the hire prior to the licensee being legal to work.
License Application – Salesperson Time Frame – Salesperson License application must occur within 1 year from the date of passing the state examination, or the state exam must be retaken and passing score reports presented. Submitting an application by 5 pm on the last business day of the one year period will require a retake and passing of the State specific and National examinations.
For more information or the answers to any questions you may have contact HUNT Career Development at 855-400-4868. If you wish to find out if a career in real estate is right for you visit us at Careers at HUNT ERA